Welcome

Welcome to my blog. I trust you will forgive the inevitable teething troubles while I continue to fathom how the damn thing works.

When I first thought of starting a blog my intention was that it would chronicle my reading, in the manner of favourite blogs like Asylum or Stuck in a Book, but I have come to the conclusion that such an imposition would be overly limiting. I will therefore set out to write about a myriad of broadly arty things, mainly to do with books, music, TV and film. I’m tempted to call it an occasional blog. Whether that will mean I post once a month or once every few days remains to be seen.

It would be a delight to see your comments, if only to stave off the sensation that I am simply writing for a readership of one, i.e. me. This is essentially an outlet for my frustrated ambitions to be a Proper Writer. With your support, maybe it will go viral and I will be hailed as the next Belle de Jour. I dare to dream.

9 Responses to “Welcome”

  1. Percy Bysshe Says:

    All the best with the new venture – and I love the subtitle! xxx

  2. Himadri Says:

    I suppose this gives me the impetus to get off my backside and start something similar. I’ll be following this blog with interest, and adding comments both pertinent and impertinent!

  3. Evie Says:

    We all have to dare to dream… Well done for setting this up – I look forward to seeing it develop!

  4. Gareth Says:

    If it develops… I think the message is watch this space, but don’t hold your breath. Thanks everyone for your support so far!

  5. Mother Says:

    I’m so proud.
    The subtitle made me laugh out loud.
    What fun!
    I shall visit again.

  6. Evie Says:

    Gareth, we are counting on you to save the internet from mediocrity – none of this ‘if it develops…’ malarkey! ;0)

  7. Gareth Says:

    No pressure then.

  8. Peter Says:

    Gareth!

    Lovely stuff. Forgive the plug–but why don’t you syndicate it (through RSS) to MusBook.com? We’re also hoping to go viral…

    BTW, I had not seen the F-D clip–you are right, painfully bittersweet towards the end, and F-D was clearly a supremely intelligent performer from such a young age.

  9. Gareth Says:

    Great to have your input! MusBook duly joined. Not sure if I’ve syndicated properly, but sure you can give me necessary pointers.

Leave a Reply

