My life according to literature

Oh, OK, one more short post before Christmas. But only because there was such a public outcry at my going away. It’s just another blog meme, I’m afraid. The idea is to answer each question with the title of a book you’ve read this year, after the manner of Stuck in a Book and a pile of leaves. Do join in if you feel so moved. An easy task for me, what with my anal record-keeping. (Actually, I must start keeping different kinds of records. Yesterday’s tally: one evacuation, two minor disturbances.)

Describe yourself:
Banned in the USA (Herbert N. Foerstel)

How do you feel:
Eleven (Mark Watson)

Describe where you currently live:
La Ville dont le Prince est un Enfant (Henry de Montherlant)

If you could go anywhere, where would you go:
The Gate of Angels (Penelope Fitzgerald)

Your favorite form of transportation:
The Lark on the Wing (Elfrida Vipont)

Your best friend is:
The Ghost of Thomas Kempe (Penelope Lively)

You and your friends are:
The Inheritors (William Golding)

What’s the weather like:
Old Filth (Jane Gardam)

You fear:
Going Solo (Roald Dahl)

What is the best advice you have to give:
Rabbit, Run (John Updike)

Thought for the day:
Once More, With Feeling (Victoria Coren and Charlie Skelton)

How you would like to die:
Shopping and Fucking (Mark Ravenhill)

Your soul’s present condition:
First Love, Last Rites (Ian McEwan)

And that’s me done. Happy holidays!

Tags: , ,

2 Responses to “My life according to literature”

  1. Fran Wilson Says:

    Brilliant parting festive shot, Gareth – and if I had access to laptop instead of just iPhone, I’d reply with my own version. I’m trying to think of a book title which best describes my situation (up an Alp, barely able to ski….!). Have a good Christmas. Fran

  2. Gareth Says:

    And a merry Christmas to you too.

Leave a Reply

