The library

Sheila: Now, Malcolm. What do you think he meant by ‘lively social life’?

Victoria: Drink.

Sheila: He wants ‘a breezy, uninhibited companion’.

Victoria: To drink with.

Sheila: What do you think he meant by ‘life peppered with personal tragedy’?

Victoria: Hangovers.

Sheila: I think you’re right, he had half an Alka-Seltzer stuck in his moustache.

from Victoria Wood, ‘The Library’ (1989)

Which I recommend, by the way.

Tags:

2 Responses to “The library”

  1. crosseyedpianist Says:

    Shades of Joe Orton – who used to document, in his diaries, things overheard on the bus (hence some of the wonderful exchanges in his plays). This morning, I heard a woman in the gym tell her companion that she “ate a whole chicken leg for breakfast” and “half a chicken for lunch”. What did she do with the rest of the chicken, I ask? Shared it with her cat?

  2. Gareth Says:

    I’ve never quite ‘got’ Orton as a writer, but his life interests me. I enjoyed Prick Up Your Ears by John Lahr, and love the Alan Bennett-scripted film (lots of Alan Bennett/Victoria Wood parallels, I’m sure, related to their ear for the cadence of Yorkshire/Lancashire speech). I must have a proper browse through the Orton diaries. All I remember is the Edna Welthorpe correspondence at the back, which of course is great fun.

Leave a Reply

