30 songs

This meme is known as The 30-Day Song Challenge or something like that. The idea is to post one song each day for thirty days via your electronic medium of choice to fit the specifications below. Everyone’s doing it. I recommend the list at Useless Chamber as an exemplar. However, because of my horror of wasting your time, I’m doing it in one go. I take ‘song’ to mean ‘piece of music’, but have made a point of choosing vocal (and popular) music where possible. I don’t have absolute favourite songs, bands or albums. Links to songs on Spotify and/or YouTube are included where possible or desirable. Enjoy/comment!

1. Your favourite song
Queen – ‘Don’t Stop Me Now’
Spotify / YouTube

2. Your least favourite song
Rossini – Cat Duet. (Every time I accidentally hear it I have the urge to commit murder. The idea alone is hateful, the actuality despicable. I don’t care for Rossini, but in his defence he doesn’t appear to have been its genuine composer.)

3. A song that makes you happy
NRBQ – ‘Always Safety First’
YouTube

4. A song that makes you sad
Television Personalities – ‘World of Pauline Lewis’
Spotify / YouTube

5. A song that reminds you of someone
Ash – ‘Lost In You’
Spotify

6. A song that reminds of you of somewhere
Blur – ‘Girls and Boys’ (Every song reminds me of somewhere, but this one reminds me of going to Normandy in Year 7.)
Spotify / YouTube

7. A song that reminds you of a certain event
Debussy – ‘Beau Soir’ (the song set for transposition in my Year 2 Advanced Keyboard Skills paper. I performed abysmally.)
Spotify / YouTube

8. A song that you know all the words to
Belle and Sebastian – ‘Lazy Line Painter Jane’
Spotify

9. A song that you can dance to
Frank Zappa – ‘Catholic Girls’
YouTube

10. A song that makes you fall asleep
Morton Feldman – Piano and String Quartet
Spotify / YouTube

11. A song from your favourite band
Ben Folds Five – ‘Battle Of Who Could Care Less’
Spotify / YouTube

12. A song from a band you hate
I entirely ignore bands I expect to hate, but presumably anything by N-Dubz would fit the bill.

13. A song that is a guilty pleasure
Ashley Tisdale, Lucas Grabeel – ‘What I’ve Been Looking For’ (from High School Musical)
Spotify / YouTube

14. A song that no one would expect you to love
Prince Far I – ‘I And I Are The Chosen One’
Spotify / YouTube

15. A song that describes you
The Kinks – ‘Art Lover’ (The title describes me, not the lyrics, er, obviously.)
Spotify / YouTube (live)

16. A song that you used to love but now hate
I can’t think of any instance where my opinion has been so totally reversed. I suppose I used to be able to tolerate the Rossini.

17. A song that you hear often on the radio
Hubert Bath – ‘Out of the Blue’ (I haven’t listened regularly to music radio for years, but I hear this quite often on Radio 5.)

18. A song that you wish you heard on the radio
Television – ‘Marquee Moon’ (Actually I’m sure this must pop up on BBC 6 Music quite a bit.)
Spotify / YouTube

19. A song from your favourite album
Radiohead – ‘Planet Telex’
Spotify / YouTube (live)

20. A song that you listen to when you’re angry
Eels – ‘Dog Faced Boy’
Spotify / YouTube

21. A song that you listen to when you’re happy
Prefab Sprout – ‘Hey Manhattan!’
Spotify / YouTube

22. A song that you listen to when you’re sad
Tom Waits – ‘Invitation To The Blues’
YouTube (live)

23. A song that you want to play at your wedding
Karg-Elert – ‘Nun danket alle Gott’, op. 65 no. 59 (Though it’s not a song, and I’m not getting married.)
Spotify

24. A song that you want to play at your funeral
Karg-Elert – ‘O Gott, du frommer Gott’, op. 65 no. 50 (Though it’s not a song, and I’m not going to die.)
Spotify

25. A song that makes you laugh
Gunther Erdmann – ‘Vier Ecken hat das Zeitungsblatt’
Spotify

26. A song that you can play on an instrument
Madeleine Dring – ‘Upper Lambourne’
Spotify

27. A song that you wish you could play
Schumann – ‘Frühlingsnacht’ (I can bluff my way through it, but it would be nice to be able to play it well – then I would be more or less capable of playing the whole Eichendorff Liederkreis, which would feel like an achievement.)
Spotify / YouTube

28. A song that makes you feel guilty
Toby Slater – ‘Consumption’

29. A song from your childhood
Madness – ‘Shut Up’
Spotify / YouTube

30. Your favourite song at this time last year
Flanders & Swann – ‘Slow Train’
Spotify / YouTube

Tags: , ,

14 Responses to “30 songs”

  1. Pete Says:

    Too long since I’d listened to Lost in You.

    I’m glad that every song reminds you of somewhere. I always find that any old shit of a past experience takes on value when attached to a song.

  2. Gareth Says:

    Absolutely every song has some kind of mental association with a place or a time or what I was doing the first time I heard it, I have realised. You express it better with your pithy vocabulary.

  3. Pete Says:

    I aim to please. The promise of that sort of experience later on is a motivating force in the speed at which I get through new music. My chronological list of albums acquainted with (20 pages, 8pt, over 4 years) is surprisingly effective as a diary.

  4. Gareth Says:

    I should add that my choice for 25 could equally have served for 6 or 7. Happy memories of a nocturnal expedition.

  5. crosseyedpianist Says:

    Yes, far better to do all 30 in one go – I’d begin to lose the plot by about day 5, what with all the other things I have to remember (getting students to their piano exams, going to work – a mere stroll across my sitting room to my piano room, etc…..). I will post my own list on my blog – with a nod to yours, Gareth, as the inspiration for the post….. 🙂

  6. Gareth Says:

    Kind of you – all extra traffic welcome! And I’ve been meaning to thank you for your recent post on the art of blogging. All sorts of useful tips there. I need to get my finger out and put some widgetty things up…

  7. crosseyedpianist Says:

    Quick techie question, Gareth. How did you link the Spotify tracks to your blog? Txs

  8. crosseyedpianist Says:

    I’ve had several enquiries about the art of blogging from friends who seem to think I am some kind of expert. I admit I’ve enjoyed a rash of hits ever since I reviewed Pollini’s Beethoven concert (152 hits in a single day is my record so far), but to be truthful, I blog because I enjoy it and it interests me – probably your motivation for writing too?

  9. 30 Songs « The Cross-Eyed Pianist Says:

    […] “blog meme” comes via Gareth (AKA Somewhere Boy). As Gareth says, “The idea is to post one song each day for thirty days via your electronic […]

  10. sfb Says:

    Flanders & Swann and Ben Folds Five in one post 🙂 definite thumbs up; although I think I prefer Ben Folds Rockin’ the Suburbs (except the title track, which I dislike intensely) to *most* of the earlier stuff, and Flanders & Swann to almost everything else!

  11. Gareth Says:

    Sad that the three of them never got to collaborate, though Donald Swann wrote some pretty funky piano parts himself. I need to listen to Ben Folds’ solo stuff more – haven’t quite got into it yet, though Carrying Cathy is a song I immediately fell in love with. I like the noisy early songs like Julianne and Uncle Walter 🙂 Great to see you here, btw.

  12. sfb Says:

    🙂 I am an avid reader. Speaking of Ben Folds collaborations – did you know that he’s done an album of songs the lyrics for which were written by Nick Hornby? It’s called Lonely Avenue and I only discovered its existence yesterday (although it appears to have been released last Sept.) I am somewhat behind in these matters!

  13. Gareth Says:

    I remember hearing about it when it came out and thinking it sounded good, but I have singularly failed to follow up on my interest. I’m such a square these days. In my teens I’d have bought it the second it came out. I knew Hornby was a Ben Folds fan from browsing his book 31 Songs. Anyway, a promising-sounding combination.

Leave a Reply

