The Great American Songbook

On Saturday afternoon I’m playing some lounge piano-type music in Christ Church, Frome as part of this charity gig for the Horn of Africa. I’m not sure where the Horn of Africa is exactly, but it’s south of Somerset anyway. Presumably it’s a bit that sticks out.

If you happen to be in the area, please come along (I’m also playing some criminally unknown Inghelbrecht piano duets just before at 3.30pm and singing Britten and Vaughan Williams at 8.00pm). If you should happen to be interested yet indisposed, here’s what I’m intending to play.

Richard Rodgers
Bewitched, Bothered and Bewildered
George Gershwin
The Man I Love
‘The Half of It, Dearie’ Blues
Love Walked In
The Lorelei

And here’s a recording of it. Apologies for my various splashes. I think some of them were probably intended. Bits of songs 3 and 5 are shamelessly stolen from Roger Vignoles’ accompaniments on one of his cabaret CDs with Sarah Walker. He’s just a master at this kind of thing.

Tags: , , ,

2 Responses to “The Great American Songbook”

  1. Cross Eyed Pianist Says:

    Lovely, Gareth. Very atmospheric (even with faint deep-breathing). Out of interest, what do you use to record yourself playing? A proper digital recorder?

  2. Gareth Says:

    Very kind of you. I’d be embarrassed at deep breathing, but I have the excuse that I was off work with a bad cough and sore throat (read man flu) when I recorded it. I have a Zoom H2 recorder that I think is very good, by and large, though the sound from my piano sometimes comes across as rather metallic. I need to experiment with mic placement and levels.

Leave a Reply

