A fantasy

It snowed yesterday morning, a miniature blizzard in Cambridge, a fight against the elements in the biting cold. Head down, I arrived at work besnowflaked and damp.

Later in the morning, the snow turned into rain. I looked out of a window across the Backs, the snow melting on the lawn, and saw the University Library in the distance. I suddenly had the sensation that I was Leo in The Go-Between, in an unfamiliar house, the grey-brown sky outside, the puddles.

Perhaps if I try hard enough, I will become Leo, I thought. Sometimes when I really want something that my rational mind knows to be impossible (normally invisibility), I can make myself believe, momentarily, that it may happen.

I had to stop being Leo and go back to work, but for a few seconds it was nice to be somewhere else.

Tags: , , ,

Leave a Reply

