I remember 2

I remember going to a children’s concert at Jackdaws in Great Elm and the programme giving the name of one piece as ‘Vaginia Reel’.

***

I remember the happiness of going to National Trust properties and, against the odds, not being bored, perhaps because of the shop or the tea room.

***

I remember playing the word COON in a Scrabble game because I’d got it mixed up with ‘coot’, and sensing from the grown-ups’ reactions that I’d done something wrong, though no one said anything.

***

I remember feeling inhibited about waving my arms when we sang hateful evangelical songs in school like ‘We are climbing Jesus’ ladder’.

***

I remember feeling embarrassed by my unbroken singing voice.

***

I remember the sickly smell of breakfast in Barry: pineapple juice and Weetabix.

***

I remember D saying confidentially to me that there was someone in the changing room with awful BO and my suspecting that it was me. Perhaps he was trying to be diplomatic. He wasn’t an academic boy, but he was kind, like Piggy in Lord of the Flies.

***

I remember seeing a comma butterfly in Welshmill Park on an inset day.

***

I remember stroking my tortoiseshell butterfly until its wings fell off and all that remained was the abdomen.

***

I remember the summer when I went down the road to the petrol station to buy a 500ml bottle of Sprite and the lid was a special one that meant I won a free bottle of Sprite and it happened several times in a row so the people on the checkout began to get suspicious.

***

I remember Tiger Tokens.

***

I remember reading The Great Gatsby and picturing the gas station as the one at the bottom of Weymouth Road.

***

I remember a boy shouting ‘Queer’ at me from a window, and realising he’d only shouted it because I happened to be there, but also half thinking, How does he know?

***

I remember Miss Davies showing us Blackadder the Third in class to explain about rotten boroughs.

***

I remember getting shyer as I got older.

***

I remember feeling absolutely indifferent to cars.

Tortoiseshell, July 2015

Tags: , , , ,

2 Responses to “I remember 2”

  1. newboyblake Says:

    You have a lovely turn of phrase.

Leave a Reply

